5 Detrimental Interview Mistakes That Are Holding You Back From Getting Your First Developer Job

Could you be failing your interviews due to one of these detrimental mistakes?

Tomasz Dobrowolski
4 min readApr 28, 2023
Photo by Razvan Chisu on Unsplash

In an interview, any slip-up will cost you a job opportunity.

Throughout my time as a Software Engineer, I have spotted a pattern of mistakes that Junior Developers make that instantly puts them out of contention for a job.

Here are the five detrimental mistakes junior developers must avoid when interviewing:

Mistake 1. Quitting halfway through a technical interview

Technical interviews are purposely hard.

Assessing a junior developer using LeetCode style questions, is like asking a lorry driver to complete a time-trial race in a sports car as part of their interview.

It’s overkill. LeetCode questions do not represent the work a developer faces at their day job.

In my first five technical interviews, I gave up the test halfway through. I felt defeated by the questions and my ability.

In hindsight, this was a mistake.

What to do instead:

--

--

Tomasz Dobrowolski

I break down Software Engineering and Tech concepts | Backend Engineer 🐘